NFHS & NCAA Video Replay Rule Changes

Allow the use of SideLine Scout Instant Video Replay for coaches in high school and college football

February 18, 2016

In 2013, the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) added a rule allowing the use of video during football games. This has changed the way coaches prepare, make adjustments and teach! Now coaches across the country are able to utilize SideLine Scout to change the way they practice, play, and win. Below is the updated rule text that allows the use of SideLine Scout’s instant replay system:

NFHS Football Rules, rule USE OF COMMUNICATION DEVICES EXPANDED (1-6): The committee has expanded use of communication devices to allow coaches, players and non-players to use any form of available communication technology during authorized conferences outside the 9-yard marks (7-yard marks in nine-, eight- and six-player competition), on the sidelines and during the halftime intermission period. Use of communication devices by players except during conferences outside the 9-yard marks continues to be prohibited.

Rule, along with SideLine Scout, provides instant feedback that benefits football programs in many ways such as:

  • Solving execution issues during the game right after the play, not after the game.
  • Giving players a visual aid to assist in correcting mistakes. Players can better understand the changes they need to make.
  • Providing coaches with a tool to see the game almost instantly. Coaches can now make adjustments on the fly right from the sidelines.

Currently in-game video use is allowed in all states except Texas and Massachusetts.

See how SideLine Scout can help change the way you play your game at today!

Trusted by Elite Coaches and Athletes

Indiana University
University of Texas
USA Diving
North Carolina University
Howard University
Stanford University
University of South Carolina
University of Louisville
Purdue University
George Washington University
University of Miami
Florida Atlantic University
University of Arkansas
Notre Dame
Ohio State
Carnegie Mellon University
Washington & Jefferson College
University of Minnesota
Diving Australia
United States Air Force Academy
Fort Lauderdale Diving Team
Auburn University
Indiana U. – Purdue U. Indianapolis
Arizona State University
University of Northern Iowa
Bryant University
University of Findlay
Union College
Wabash College
University of Nevada at Reno
Bryn Mawr College
West Virginia University
Georgetown University
Emory University
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
University of Missouri
University of Florida
Washington University at St Louis
Denison University
Colorado School of Mines